No Luddites Here!

Are you technologically savvy?

I think that I’m okay. I can use a computer. I have a smart phone. I’m alright with social media (still on the fence with Twitter though).

I want my son to be more technologically adept than I am. I think you need to be with everything moving so fast these days. He seems to be fascinated with gadgets. He’s like a raven. He always goes after shiny things.

Am I crazy about wanting to get him an iPad? He’s a toddler. Of course, we would wait another year or so. My hubby always says, “Never get anything first-generation”. Um, right.

I mean, this is not some whim. I’ve read about kids intuitively adapting really quickly to the touch-screen and Apple does have a lot of kid-friendly games to offer.

I see how my nephew and niece handle the iTouch like it’s nobody’s business. I mean they’re three and six. I’m hopeless at navigating a touch-screen.  I need my buttons.

I am fully aware of the coolness factor that Apple has perpetrated. Everybody seems to have an iPhone. Everyone seems to be getting an iPad.

Just a few days ago, I participated in a friendly debate on Facebook discussing the merits and disadvantages between Apple and Blackberry. One person was trying to make the point that Apple puts more thought into creating a total experience for the consumer. The company even went as far as to hire perfume designers to create their packaging. My response back was that kind of rationale was like putting lipstick on a pig.

Zing!

Okay, I’m not completely off my rocker on this one. I think….

I mean, I’m not going to bombard my son with gadgets. We stopped buying toys for him a looooong time ago. I just want him to be familiar with technology.

On second thought, maybe I’ll just get him a cardboard box.

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Luddites Here!

  1. les says:

    The younger you learn these things, the better. I didn’t learn to swim until I was almost 40–I can JUST keep myself alive in the water. I can’t even swim under the water–only on top! Meanwhile, every kid who learned how to swim in our pool can dive, pick up sticks on the bottom of the pool, etc. Same with the tech gadgets! My kids can’t believe how long it takes me to catch on to this stuff–it’s in their blood, I guess. It’s probably because they started using the stuff when they were young and impressionable.

    • myra36 says:

      Well, they do say you can’t teach an old dog new tricks. LOL. I actually don’t know how to swim! I’ll be 40 in a couple of years but I still haven’t gotten over my fear of putting my head in the water. I can go in and splash around like a fool. But, floating? Forget about it! :)

Leave a Reply

