I Lied. It’s Really All About Me

My birthday is coming up. As expected, I get the “What do you want for your birthday?” query. Amazingly, people are aghast when I tell them, “Nothing”.

Well, I don’t need anything. I’ve got a home, a wonderful family, and fantastic friends. We’re not rolling in dough, but  we can afford the occasional splurge on a trip or pizza (yes, ordering in pizza is a splurge to me).

I’ve realized that as I get older, I don’t need anymore things. Yes, clothing needs to be purchased every season and certain items will need to be replaced as they break down. But, I don’t need  anymore superfluous doodads that may come from the heart but just take up valuable space in my condo.

What I want are experiences. I want to just spend time with friends and family. We may be connected more with our smart phones and computers, but I find that we don’t actually talk anymore. We don’t share enough.

I’ll be the first to admit that I prefer to text or BBM someone instead of calling them. But,if you want to go for a coffee? I’m there with bells and whistles.

So instead of getting jewelry or a new electronic gadget for my birthday, I’ll be chilling in a bar with my peeps watching grown men beat the crap out of each other on Pay-Per-View.

Mind you, I’ll be expecting something HUGE for my fortieth!

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in random thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Lied. It’s Really All About Me

  1. Cyndi says:

    Happy Birthday To You!! I’m with you, unless there is something that I really want (like a new cell phone or something) I don’t much care about getting “things” for my b-day. I do, however, always appreciate a massage or pedicure gift certificate. :)

    • myra36 says:

      Thanks hun! I agree that a massage or pedicure are great gifts. I actually did hint at possibly needing a new camera. Mine was about 5 years old already and not working well. I used to take pics all the time but stopped because I would get so frustrated when it crapped out. So, my hubby went out and got me one! I just have to figure out how to use the darn thing!

  2. Have a great birthday :) this is funny cos i get that what do you want for your birthday question too every year :)

Leave a Reply

