That Kid Is Gonna Be the Death Of Me

Boo-Boo just turned two. He has now become an expert climber. He will climb out of his crib when he wakes up from his nap and proceed to make a wonderful mess for me to clean up. So, we now have to convert his crib to a bed and either lock down everything or take all the stuff out of his room.

I love my mom’s suggestion.

Just put a net over his crib.

Really? As I get older, I’m starting to realize that my mother is certifiably insane. Joy.

Anyhoo, he has also discovered that if he can’t reach something, he can always pull a chair or table over and climb onto it.

You would think that eons of evolution would have ingrained some “Danger! Danger!” instinct into that little noggin of his. But, noooooooo! He has to make  me run after him,  re-arrange the whole house, and give me a heart attack every time I hear a thump come from his room.

Now, it’s not as if we have hazardous materials or dangerous objects just lying around all willy-nilly. But, kids are geniuses. They always find a way to get into something they have no business touching. Child-proofing?  My ass. It doesn’t exist.

I suppose I could look at the bright side of things. He’s showing his independence, his strength, and his problem-solving skills.

That’s right. I can rationalize anything.

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in motherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to That Kid Is Gonna Be the Death Of Me

  1. And why oh why do they insist on re-enacting their last accident? My two year old will mountaineer his way to the top of something, fall off, have a cry and then go and attempt it again.

  2. les says:

    And this is why young people have babies. It really takes a lot of energy to keep up with a two-year-old!

  3. Pingback: Not Quite…. « TinyYetMighty

Leave a Reply

