Holiday Hangover

Yes, I’m still alive. Barely.

As much as I love getting together and seeing family over the holidays, December is NOT my favourite month by any stretch. Firstly, I have to deal with crazy, lobotomized shoppers at my store. People, my suggestion of gift cards should not be met with scorn and derision. Honestly! Personally, I would be offended if you bought me something that was 60% off as a gift. Hey, it happened on Boxing Day. This poor guy came in to exchange a scarf he had received for Christmas. Imagine my chagrin when I had to tell him that it was only $2! Some real thought went into that present.

Secondly, for whatever reason (let’s say it’s laziness on my husband’s part), all the gift-buying, wrapping, and decorating falls upon me. Granted, I’m better at it than he is. But, it’s still a hassle.

Travelling in the winter sucks big time. My hubby’s family unfortunately lives in “snowbelt” area. Even though they are less than three hours away, they always get the white stuff sooner and in greater quantities than us. We’ll be enjoying clear skies while they have blizzard-like whiteouts. Are we not in the 21st century? Where is my teleporter?

Also, there seems to be so much going on! This month we had two Christmas dinners, three birthdays, and New Year’s. I’m done.

On the flip side, seeing family is one redeeming event in this crazy holiday season. The rest of the year they can drive you mental. But, after some turkey and booze, everyone is lovey-dovey.

It’s also a time of reflection. You look back on the past year and wonder at all that has happened (or not). You savour the good times, gravely acknowledge the losses, and look forward to the upcoming year.

Hope everyone made it through the holidays in one piece and with their sanity intact.  Let’s see what the next decade has in store for us. As long as there’s no vodka shortage, Mama will be just fine.

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Holiday Hangover

  1. Cyndi says:

    Welcome back, glad to hear you made it through the holidays! :)

  2. Yay! Glad you made it through! And it’s so true about guys getting a pass on the holidays–why is it usually up to us women to do all the shopping, wrapping, planning, etc.? I’d like the holidays a lot more, too, if I was a guy.

Leave a Reply

