I Haven’t Even Started Shopping Yet! Frak!

As the holidays get closer, I’m starting to think of Christmas traditions. Hubby and I haven’t really started any of our own. I meant to get an Advent calendar  but then I realized that we were already into December. So that idea was pretty much useless. We still have our dinky tabletop Christmas tree from our student days. Since Boo-Boo still has a tendency to climb onto EVERYTHING, a full size tree will wait until next year. I’m probably being paranoid but still…

Christmas dinner has been and probably will forever be at my parents’ place. The tree is always beside the stairs in the foyer. That way, it’s the first thing you see when you walk in. Very heart-warming. However, there was one year where my mother thought it would be a good idea to put it in the living room. NOT! It threw everyone off and anarchy threatened to break out. Don’t mess with tradition.

Another one of our Christmas practices is to have someone dress up as Santa to give out the presents. Unfortunately,  I don’t remember when this started. It was my brother for the longest time. But, he has since passed (delegated) that responsibility to one of our cousins. It used to be kinda cheesy. But now that we have little ones running underfoot, it’s actually something we all look forward to.

My mother (bless her!) continues to hang up our stockings even though all of us (save one) are no longer living at home. She has even gone so far as to add stockings for our significant others and kids. Every year I can look forward to “Santa” giving me new socks and a Tim Horton’s gift card. Sweet!

Now that I have my own family, I wonder what traditions my hubby and I will start.

Do you have any holiday customs? What are your Christmas traditions?

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Haven’t Even Started Shopping Yet! Frak!

  1. You better get moving on that shopping, girl! Although at your child’s age, shopping is a bit easier. Wait ’til they get older and pickier!

    We used to set out the advent angels and light the candles each Sunday. Now we’re lucky if we get the tree up before Christmas week.

    Sadly, my current tradition is to see how much shopping I can do online and thereby avoid the malls, and how quickly I can pack everything back up after the holidays and get back to normal. Sigh.

    • myra36 says:

      Unfortunately, I work in a mall so I have to deal with the frustrated and crazy masses. Luckily, my family is cool in that they mostly want gift cards and/or booze. I usually can get my shopping in one day. Usually…

Leave a Reply

