The Pause That Refreshes

Since I’ve become a parent, I find that I get really emotional easily. Reality shows are the worst. I know that producers manipulate and exploit storylines in order to mesmerize audiences. Still, I watch and am transfixed. Any type of back story that involves kids auditioning for their dead parents and I’m done.

I was watching X Factor online the other day. The story of a guy who became the guardian of his nephew after his brother died of lung cancer six weeks after being diagnosed had me blubbering in front of the computer for most of the afternoon.

I came across this commercial on YouTube.

More and more people seem to be shunning parenthood. They reason that the economy is not stable or overpopulation is environmentally unsound. They determine that it would be irresponsible to bring innocent lives into a world in chaos. I can sympathize with that. But, every day with my son fills me with such joy that I cannot fathom my life any other way. I don’t think I was living before parenthood.

The message in this commercial is so poignant (despite the fact that it’s for a product that will rot your teeth). Yes, the world sucks right now. But, as the grandfather says, “Don’t waste your time in nonsense, there is plenty of it. Go find what makes you happy while you can since time slips away very quickly.

Precious words indeed.

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Pause That Refreshes

  1. Maybe that child brought into a violent scary world will be one that finds a way to make the world a better place.

  2. materix01 says:

    I still can’t imagine what is so great about having a kid >.<
    Guess that just shows my immaturity. Things will change when I get older right?

    • myra36 says:

      Absolutely things will change when you’re older. Even when I was 25, I couldn’t fathom being a parent. Granted, parenthood is not for everyone. But, your perspective changes with age and experience.

      :)

  3. JimmyBean says:

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! :) I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

