Some Day

Whew! Finally, some downtime after having to work all weekend. I am SOOO not looking forward to the day that I have to do some back-to-school shopping for my Boo-Boo. People are crazy. Sigh.

I’m getting ready to go out for a family dinner later on. We’re commemorating my maternal grandfather’s passing. I find it a little odd to get together as a family on the anniversary of his death. But, that’s what we do. I think it’s a cultural thing.

I’m more bummed about the fact that he never got to see his great-grandson.  I’m getting a little teary as I type this. Hang on…

OK.  His health had been declining steadily for years. So, I knew that it was only a matter of time.  But, nothing prepares you for the day when you get the news.  You feel sadness, relief, anger,  pain, and numbness. You try to busy yourself with the mundane in order to make yourself move on. You tell yourself that it was for the best. You do and say anything to keep it together and not let yourself go. You do this so there are no pieces of you to pick up.

I was unable to go to the funeral in the Phillippines. I never really got to say goodbye.

My younger sister went. She told me that something weird happened.

My grandfather’s body was laid out in his home for friends and family to come and pay their respects. On the first day of the viewing, a butterfly flew in and landed on a curtain beside the casket. That butterfly did not move from that spot for the entire week my grandfather’s body rested there. Only when my grandfather was finally carried out for the burial did that butterfly fly off into the sky.

Filipinos are pretty superstitious. My family believes that my grandfather’s spirit was in that butterfly and that he came to see his loved ones one last time.

It might have been a coincidence that this random insect was just flying around. But, I like to think that some things can’t be explained away with logic.

Besides, it will be a great story to tell my son some day.

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in family and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Some Day

  1. Cyndi says:

    That is a great story! I love hearing about signs. I miss them most of the time, not always, but usually. Sometimes signs have to practically hit me in the head before I see them. I think it’s because I’m too analytical and/or cynical. I am sorry for your loss and that your son never got to know him.

    • myra36 says:

      Thank you so much!

      Speaking of signs, we had our fortune cookies after dinner. Mine said “Buy that ticket”. I thought it was hilarious since I had just bought a raffle ticket off my mom!

  2. Oooh! Maybe that ticket will be a winner!

Leave a Reply

