Hmmmmm

Several months ago, my husband and I pondered what we would do once my maternity leave was up. Daycare? No daycare? Could we afford to send him? Could we afford not to? Did he need to go if only to learn how tosupermom interact and socialize with other kids? Would we still be able to provide for him with one less salary if I chose to stay at home?

After much thought, we decided against daycare. But, I went back to work part time. As my hubby is on a rotating schedule, there’s a lot of juggling around and planning involved. Financially, I don’t need to work (but the extra money helps). However, I felt that I needed to get out and have some adult conversations once in a while.

A couple of weeks ago, my manager came to me and asked if I would consider moving up and becoming a Visual Merchandiser. It would definitely be a promotion but would also be a switch to fulltime.

There’s a lot to think about.

Hmmmm. I’m definitely flattered. But, I like my position. My hours are flexible so I get to spend a lot of precious time with my son.  Right now, I don’t have any compulsion to have a fulltime career. Seventeen years ago, I couldn’t see myself as a mother. I wanted to finish my degree, go to medical school, and have a thriving practice. Now, I find to difficult to tear myself away from my Boo-Boo. My priorities have definitely changed.

My manager mentioned that since the position also meant a pay raise, I would be able to afford daycare. Well, that’s nice. But, am I selfish to want to spend as much time with my son as possible? Am I less of a supermom if I don’t both parent and work fulltime?  

I suppose it would be different if my son was in school. Still…

We’ll see.

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in motherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hmmmmm

  1. materix01 says:

    We need mum/mom appreciation day like once a week rather than just her Birthday and Mothers Day…

  2. Oooh. Why are there so many hard decisions to make? You have to go with your heart on this one.

Leave a Reply

