Who Are You?

Don’t you just hate it when people indirectly insult you?

Let me explain.

I spent the weekend with my sisters. This is a fabulous and rare treat. Once the kids are down for the night, we get to just talk and drink a crapload of wine. It’s a bonus that the kids actually do get along (unlike the other set of cousins – grr!). Anyhoo, my sister’s friends came over for dinner on Saturday night. They had brought their two girls over as well. So, it was a pretty noisy affair with five kids in the house. But, I digress.

Like me, my sister’s friend (let’s call her “Queen Bee”) works in retail. However, she is much further up on the hierarchy. I believe that she’s an Area Manager or Director of a competitor that shall remain nameless. Actually, there’s no competition. My company is MUCH bigger. He, he. But, I digress.

Anyhoo, she knows that I work in retail too. So, of course she wants to talk shop. I actually hate this. When I leave work, I LEAVE work. I have more important things to focus on. It was different back when I was a manager. But, since I’ve become part time, I don’t give a rat’s ass. But, I can be civil and shoot the s**t.

Here’s our conversation in a nutshell:

Queen Bee – So, how’s work?

Me – Good! We’re a little bit down from last year. But, so is everyone. The economy, you know?

Queen Bee – Yeah. You know, everytime I shop at ——–, I receive the WORST customer service ever!

OK. Who goes to someone’s home and disses their workplace? I guess you could say that I’m still representing my company outside of work. But, come on! When I’m off the clock, I’m OFF the clock. I’m all for criticism – good and bad. But, there’s a right way and a wrong way. The above example was the wrong way of giving a critique. Here’s how I believe it should have went.

Queen Bee – You know, I don’t mean to put you on the spot since it’s outside of work. But, I have to say that I don’t get the level of customer service that I expect when I shop at one of your stores.   

Me – Oh, I’m sorry to hear that. It’s definitely our policy to provide a high standard of customer service. I appreciate the feedback and I’ll be sure to pass that along.

See? Constructive and tactful.

I’m not saying that my company is perfect. And, I certainly can’t speak for the store that she shops at. However, when you tell  me that my company gives you get the WORST service ever and you STILL dress your daughters in the merchandise, I’m not really inclined to care what you think.    

What I wanted to say back to her was:

Me: Really? You know, I don’t get very good customer service at your stores either. In fact, I don’t really shop there. I find the clothing cheaply made and overpriced. Plus, it’s not very fashion-forward. I prefer not to look like a skanky ho.

But, I didn’t. Sigh.

Why? Two reasons. Firstly, it would involve effort. Too much. Secondly, that would mean that I give a damn. As I’ve mentioned before, I don’t.

I like to think that I took the higher ground. It might have been different if we were at a bar and I had a few double vodka and crans.

I probably would have taken an eye out for sure.

Anyhoo, karma is a bitch.

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Who Are You?

  1. mousesurfer says:

    Nice post! Also nice blog, maybe visit mine sometime. We talk about literally anything!

    http://mousesurferblog.com/
    http://mousesurferblog.com/

  2. Cyndi says:

    I was pleasantly reading along thinking that she sounds somewhat annoying and pretentious and was completely caught off guard by this little nugget: “I prefer not to look like a skanky ho.” and proceeded to actually laugh out loud, all by myself here at my computer! :)

  3. LOL Well, it must not be so bad that she won’t shop there anymore. And obviously the store that she works at must not have the variety that your store does or she’d be shopping there. So take THAT, Queen Bee.

Leave a Reply

