Adventures In Babysitting

I’ve finally done it.

I’m getting a babysitter.

Albeit, it’s only for two days. But, I’ve never had anyone else look after my Boo-Boo. Needless to say I’m a little anxious.

When I decided to go back to work, we figured that we wouldn’t put our son through daycare. I dropped down to part time and coordinated my schedule around my hubby’s. Whoever wasn’t working was on child patrol. Thankfully my workplace was understanding and flexible.

Well, scheduling blunders were bound to happen. Somehow (totally my hubby’s fault) we ended up working on the same days. Hence, the need for someone else to look after our son.

So, I enlisted the help of my mother and cousin. Although I’m sure that they’re both more than capable, I couldn’t help but write out explicit instructions regarding my son’s care.

Is saying, “Microwave for 22 seconds and stir to eliminate hot spots”, too anal?

I am not a “Helicopter Mother”. I just have standards.

Anyways, I’m sure that everything will be fine. Luckily, my son isn’t fussy. I don’t even care if he watches TV (the Treehouse channel of course!) the whole time.

I just don’t understand why my mother got all in huff when I said that her place wasn’t childproof. Hello? You haven’t had little kids running around in over twenty years! Don’t blame me if Boo-Boo knocks over a vase or eats a plant.

Are orchids poisonous?

emergency

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in family and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Adventures In Babysitting

  1. He’ll be fine. After all, your mom managed to get you to adulthood! :) At least you don’t have to leave him with a stranger or at the germ-breeding day-care center.

    • myra36 says:

      Lol. This is true.

      I’m actually not too worried about his socialization or germs. One of the main reasons that we didn’t put him in daycare is because I don’t like other people’s kids (except family of course!). He, he. Oh, it’s too expensive too.

      :)

  2. manchitra says:

    I also feel your baby will be fine with your mom than in a day care center as she would shower all her affection on him.
    when you feel your mothers place is not child proof, it may not be entirely correct when she takes the responsibility will she not take care of all the precautions.

    • myra36 says:

      Luckily my mother’s place has French doors so that they can “confine” him to one room at least. We live in a condo so he hasn’t mastered stairs yet. Unfortunately, my mom’s place doesn’t have any safety gates. Hence, the trepidation.

Leave a Reply

