Now I’ve Heard Everything

OK. There are a lot of groups out there fighting the good fight to raise awareness on a multitude of issues. For example, there’s PETA or People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals.  As a meat lover, I obviously don’t agree with their entire agenda. But, I respect their dedication to the cause.

That is, until now.

I just read this story about Obama swatting a fly during an interview. PETA took exception to Obama’s lack of compassion for the bug and are sending him a Katcha Bug Humane Bug Catcher.

Seriously?

Clubbing baby seals is wrong. Testing cosmetics on pigs is wrong. Puppy mills are wrong. I get it.

Swatting a fly?

Come on people! Let’s pick our battles!

I’m not saying that we should kill all insects. Most are vital for pollination and recycling of biological materials. Heck, some people even eat them. Shudder.

But, we’re talking about flies here.

You’re not going to get much public support. After all, flies are annoying, ugly, dirty, disease-ridden, icky things. My vegetarian friends have no qualms killing the f**kers. As far as I’m concerned, we’re allowed to be cruel to them. Yes, I said it.

It almost seems that PETA would do anything to keep themselves in the news and, thus, bring attention to their cause. I mean, we are talking about an organization that wrote a letter to Ben and Jerry’s, asking them to put human breast milk in their products instead of cow’s milk.

I kid you not.

But, I suppose we need ignorance in order to recognize intelligence.

PETA is cuckoo. Yes, I said it.

godscreaturesI kid, I kid.
About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in current events and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Now I’ve Heard Everything

  1. materix01 says:

    Tell them to get a real job =.=

  2. Yeah, I respect Peta’s work to help animals but sometimes they can go too overboard! It’s kinda annoying.

  3. Cyndi says:

    They’re beyond overboard…they are downright whack-jobs and have zero credibility.

    I’m not sure if you heard about this but last week Andy Dick was representing them, standing outside the Rock ‘N Roll McDonald’s in downtown Chicago dressed in a chicken suit with “blood” all over it screaming at passersby. The issue? The inhumane way in which their suppliers kill the chickens they use in their nuggets and sandwiches. Apparently, there is a more humane way in which many Europeans kill chickens. McDonald’s says there’s no way to obtain the volume of chicken they use doing it that way. I don’t have a clue (or really care frankly) if there is a “better” way to kill chickens. Andy Dick behaving like a crazy person (as if that’s something out of the ordinary for him) certainly isn’t going to change my mind.

    Oops, I just killed a mosquito that landed on my McNugget while wearing a fur coat.

  4. Eww! Breast milk in ice cream? Why’s it ok to milk mama human but not mama cow?

Leave a Reply

