Going To The Country, Gonna Eat A Lot Of Peaches

My son has finally discovered grass.

We live out in the ‘burbs. So, grass isn’t exactly a scarce commodity. However, we live in a condo. Grass is in a park about 10 minutes away and most likely filled with pesticides/weed killer/God-knows-what. My son’s interaction with the great outdoors has been restricted to the confines of his stroller unfortunately.

That all changed on Friday when we went to my husband’s home town for his grandfather’s burial. Thankfully, it wasn’t a somber event. We had said our goodbyes some time ago and he had lived a long, blessed life. I digress however.

My hubby grew up in a small town and spent a lot of time on his uncle’s farm.That was where we gathered after the service to drink, reminisce, and catch up. Mostly to drink.

Since my hubby’s uncle used to be an organic farmer, I knew that I could set my son free to explore without worrying about what chemicals he might accidently ingest. So, away he went.

The look on his face was of pure delight, astonishment, and curiosity. He couldn’t figure out what the green stuff at his feet was. He kept bending down to touch it. Strangely enough he didn’t try to eat it. He did try some stones, dandelions, and dirt though. Good boy.

He was delighted with everything and reveled in the freedom that he rarely gets. As I looked at him, with his pants covered with his first grass stains and dandelion piss, I was reminded of how infrequently we let our children play outdoors now.

I don’t know if it’s because there are more predators out now. Or if it just seems like it. Do we “helicopter” too much and not let our children learn self-reliance? Are we too paranoid about what’s out there that may harm our kids?

Who knows.

I think we’re going to visit the country more though.

farm

* photo courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons
About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Going To The Country, Gonna Eat A Lot Of Peaches

  1. It’s so much fun watching them explore new things. Wait until you get to the beach. My boys cried at first about the water (too cold or too scary, I think), but they all tried to eat a handful of sand at some point.

  2. myra36 says:

    Ooh, I can’t wait to get to the beach! I think I’m gonna download some ocean sounds for him…

  3. Lubi :) says:

    haa haaa :)))) when i read “He couldn’t figure out what the green stuff at his feet was. He kept bending down to touch it. Strangely enough he didn’t try to eat it.” i burst out laughing :))))

    kids even in that sweet lil’ age keep away from all greenies!! :))))) ask me what a task it is to get my 10yr old to swallow a few veggies even now!! sigh…

    anyways :)) enjoy the spring ‘n summer while it lasts…

Leave a Reply

