Can I Bring My Baby To Work Please?

Being back at work hasn’t been too bad. I was kind of expecting (hoping?) that my son would have a hard time adjusting to my being away.

Nope.

He’s been fine. Oh, he’s happy to see me when I come home. But, he probably thinks that I’ve just been in the next room.

Sigh.

I’ve been the one who’s been anxious, fretful, and unsure. I know that he’s in the very capable hands of his father (even though he’s not quite as tidy as I’d like him to be). But, I definitely miss being at home with him. I miss our routine.

I work in retail. It’s fast-paced, dynamic, and demanding. Dealing with other people after an extended sojourn takes some getting used to. There’s also the unfair expectation of being up-to-speed with everything right away. While I’ve adjusted pretty well to the pace,  feigning patience and understanding for people you don’t give a crap about and hope to never see again takes some effort. I’m still in that baby-centric frame of mind. Or maybe I’m in the wrong field of work?

ROTFLMFAO.

It’s a long standing joke among those who work in retail that we get to see people at their absolute worst. Some customers tend to forget that we are human too. The things that I’ve experienced would make your jaw drop. I digress and jest of course.

Nevertheless, I’ve met some shoppers who have lauded me for attempting to balance work, marriage, and motherhood. That’s really sweet. But, why is it considered a Herculean effort for women to be able to juggle all those things? Do we applaud men for balancing a career and fatherhood? Hmmmmm…..

It’s no lie when they say that your priorities change after you have a baby. Having a career no longer is important to me. You don’t have to do it all.

Well, you can but I don’t want to.

dragonctrI wish that I could take a roller coaster to work.
About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in motherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Can I Bring My Baby To Work Please?

  1. I wish my work was RIDING roller coasters!

  2. Unfortunately, people kind of realize that women STILL do the bulk of the child care/housework thing–in most cases. That’s what makes it so hard. And of course, I think we’re just wired to feel guilty whether we stay at home to raise our kids or leave them with someone so we can earn a living.

  3. Evenshine says:

    Yup…welcome to the world of working mommy-hood. We all ride roller coasters down here. And wallow in guilt.

  4. Lubi :) says:

    haa haaa :D

    good food for thought Myra ;)

Leave a Reply

