Things I Don’t Miss About Being Preggers

I want another baby.

Believe or not, I used to think that parenthood would never happen. My husband and I were almost resigned to the fact that we were on our way to becoming a childless couple. Conceiving wasn’t an issue. However, we enjoyed the freedom that comes with not having to follow a someone else’s schedule, whims, wants, and needs. But, it did happen and thank God for that! Just when you think that you’re never going to be ready or able, it all falls into place.

When Baby No. 2 is going to happen is still a matter of debate. There are active discussions going on though.

Thinking back on my pregnancy, I can say that it was a pretty awesome experience. I find myself really missing my “basketball”. However, there are definitely a few things that I don’t miss.

1. Not being able to down a cold one

Not drinking was pretty brutal. Mama loves her alcohol! I found myself sniffing my husband’s beer because I missed the taste. I definitely missed going out to the bar with my friends. I consoled myself with the thought that the money I was saving was going towards diapers.

2. Unsolicited comments

A pregnant belly does not give you the right to say anything to me. I don’t know you. I don’t want to know you. I don’t care what you have to say. Go away.

3. Walking like a duck

Luckily, I had to endure this for only a month or so. It was pretty annoying though. My husband would get endless pleasure from walking behind me. Bugger!

4. Lifting without limits

I’m not used to asking for help. My job does require a bit of physical labour. So, having to make adjustments to my activities was a little disconcerting. However, I think that I will take advantage of my “delicate” state the next time around.

5. Maternity clothes

Who designs these things? Maternity wear is butt-fricking ugly and usually double the price. Honestly!

So, there you go. It’s easier the second time around, right?

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in motherhood and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Things I Don’t Miss About Being Preggers

  1. Lubi :) says:

    :)))

    Yes they say it’s easier the second time around… and I hope ‘n pray that, that is how it will be for you, Myra! *hugs*

    The last time I was pregnant (which was my first time too) was about 10 yrs ago. And all I remember not liking then, was not being able to eat ‘n sleep to my heart’s content. And I remember crying… no, make that bawling… for anything, everything & nothing :)))

  2. myra36 says:

    Soon, soon….I hope.

    :0

  3. Evenshine says:

    YES. Easier the second time. And come on, maternity clothes are not that bad. Seen Isabella Oliver? A Pea In the Pod? Heck, even Old Navy has cute maternity clothes. It’s only a few months, afer all, not like a permanent condition or something. Enjoy it! Here’s hoping it’ll be soon!

Leave a Reply

