I Want To Work! Really?

This Saturday is my first shift back at work. Mat leave is over! No more lounging in sweat pants and watching Treehouse shows. Boo.

Apparently, I was supposed to come back earlier. When I talked to my admin a month ago, I could have sworn that she said that I would come in after Easter. I got a text from my sister on Tuesday to call the office. What? Have they lost my file? Why didn’t they call? Indeed, I was supposed to work at least two days this week. Who knows? Pregnancy has permanently fried my brain. However, I do recall giving them the actual dates of when I could work (a month ago) since I was dropping down to part time. If there was a problem, the onus was on them to let me know. Anyhoo, there was much confusion and consternation. Even though, the Powers-That-Be knew of my return, they had yet to decide which department to plop me in. As it stands, I’m just showing up on Saturday with no clue as to where I’m working. Joy.

I’m a little apprehensive. It’s been a year since I’ve worked and had to deal with the outside world. It’s very easy to cocoon yourself at home with a baby. Never mind the fact that a lot has changed since I left. There has been a lot of staff turnover and administrative changes. But, I’ll now have to converse in complete sentences and drop the sing-song voice. I should be allowed to put pissy customers in timeout.

So, we’ll see how this goes. My husband and I have made the decision not to put our heir into daycare. Instead, we’ll be passing him back and forth so to speak. This could either save us money and enable us not to miss a single moment watching our son grow up. Or it could drive us crazy and be an epic fail. Holy shizznit!

help

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in motherhood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I Want To Work! Really?

  1. I know what you are going through after having been on maternity leave and then having to return to work again. I have been there and what a night mare. I feel today there are so many choices and if you are smart you will know what choice to make. Here is an option – (no obligation what so ever) but if one does not know about choices then how should one make them. Take a look at my webpage, even facebook:
    Natasha Strahlendorf.
    Wishing you the best of luck with your future and all the best for your family.
    success is a choice, the choice is yours
    Have an exciting day and weekend
    Natasha

    • myra36 says:

      Thank you so much for dropping by Natasha!

      I will check out your web page. Thanks for your best wishes. It’s good to know that I have a compadre.

      :)

  2. I’ve been off work since June myself. Not due to maternity leave (thank God I put in my time with that 8 & 10 years ago), but due to the collapse of the mortgage industry. I can completely understand how strange it must feel to go back, even part-time. How was it?

  3. Jes the Bes says:

    It mush be so difficult to make choices between career and parenting. Don’t worry to much. I’m sure your “heir” will feel so loved.

    Thanks for stopping by my site.

  4. I did the same thing when my first son was born. I went back to work a few evenings and Saturday and we passed the baby between us–no daycare! It was the perfect solution for us. We both had our alone time with baby, we both got to interact with adults, and we each felt like we were contributing to the family finances. Good luck. To me, you’re making the perfect choice.

  5. Lubi :) says:

    Oh, Good Luck Hon!!

Leave a Reply

