What The Twit?

All I hear about these days is Twitter this and Twitter that. This is the latest thing in social media. I never did MySpace or Asian Avenue. And, it took me a while to get into Facebook and blogging. But, I refuse to jump on board this Twitter thing. I don’t care if Obama and Kanye do it. I will not submit.

twitFor those who don’t know, Twitter is a service that enables people to stay hyper-connected thorough the exchange of quick, frequent answers to one simple question: What are you doing?

Who the hell cares? I have never wondered what my loved ones are doing every five minutes. Why the flying eff would total strangers be concerned about my business?

RESISTANCE IS NOT FUTILE!

However, I will do a mock simulation. You can tell me if my everyday meanderings are worth following. Please note that all times are approximate and that a proper Twitter page looks nothing like this. I have no graphic design skills whatsoever. I would actually start at the bottom and work up to the top in order to see how my day unfolded. Tricky!

Post, have a beer & then off 2 bed. Wonder what tmrw will bring? about 2 minutes ago from web

Silver 4 Patrick. Bronze 4 Joubert. See Brian? You don’t need quad. Should’ve learnt your lesson last yr. Wk on your footwk & transitions 4 nxt yr. about 45 minutes ago from web

Figure skating on. Go Patrick Chan! Joubert can suck it. 11:59 PM Mar 26th from web

Yay comments! Must ans like a good blogger. Gonna change Page headings up top 2 single words. Much cleaner & Zen-like. Also adding RSS feeds. 11:01 PM Mar 26th from web

Finally hubby is off computer! Telepathy does work. 10:05 PM Mar 26th from TwitterBerry

Bedtime. Awwwwww 9:22 PM Mar 26th from TwitterBerry

Should b in bed by now but his cuteness is spellbinding. Can’t resist. 9:15 PM Mar 26th from TwitterBerry

He took some steps! He took some steps! Now he’s on his ass. Lol. 9:12 PM Mar 26th from TwitterBerry

Hell’s Kitchen or Drag Race? RuPaul wins! Queens over chefs any day. 9:00 PM Mar 26th from TwitterBerry

Buh-bye Mike! 8:58 PM Mar 26th from TwitterBerry

Almost 4got Idol results! Should b Mike, Scott & Megan in bottom. Any of them can go. Their performances were subpar. With singers like these, who needs Ambien? 8:38 PM Mar 26th from TwitterBerry

Hope baby doesn’t realize we missed In The Night Garden. Should start PVR’ng that stuff. With shows like this, who needs drugs? 8:31 PM Mar 26th from TwitterBerry

I want a new kitchen! These cupboards gotta b 20 yrs old. Honestly! Must start saving now. Granite is hella expensive. 8:12 PM Mar 26th from TwitterBerry

Running a bit behind on baby’s sked. No time 2 mk baby food. Methinks he’ll be getting a Gerber lil entree (aka TV dinner 4 babies). Bad Mommy! 7:58 PM Mar 26th from TwitterBerry

While putting produce in cart am reminded of how women r Gatherers & men r Hunters. Luv how evolutionary biology rears its ugly head. 7:12 PM Mar 26th from TwitterBerry

Ooh! 4got this Walmart has Grocery Shelf. Must look around. Don’t look @ books, don’t look @ books. Got 2 many books. Resist 6:32 PM Mar 26th from TwitterBerry

Finally off! Going 2 place that has No Frills & Walmart. Boys can look @ toys & electronics while mommy gets sustenance. 5:58 PM Mar 26th from TwitterBerry

We’re going out! Hubby & baby need to wash and get dressed. Est time out the door = 1 hour. Sigh. 5:04 PM Mar 26th from TwitterBerry

Hold up. We have 2 watch The Wiggles. Really don’t understand the appeal. These guys creep me out. Real people r not this happy. 4:01 PM Mar 26th from TwitterBerry

Lunch is scrambled egg, cereal & mango. Baby eats healthier than I do. So not fair. Mom gets coffee. REALLY NEED GROCERIES! 3:30 PM Mar 26th from TwitterBerry

Baby’s smile = BLISS. In 15 years this will be replaced w/scowl & disdain. Must b prepared 4 day when I’m no longer cool. Sniff. 3:02 PM Mar 26th from TwitterBerry

Reading Tweak by Nic Sheff. Have your kids read this. They will NEVER want 2 try drugs. So-called kids lit is excellent nowadays. LUVS IT! 1:14 PM Mar 26th from TwitterBerry

Naptime! 3 hrs of serenity 12:15 PM Mar 26th from TwitterBerry

Entropy is a measure of the disorder of a system (goes fr low to high or fr order to disorder) & can be demo’d by baby w/blocks 11:31 AM Mar 26th from TwitterBerry

Baby attached 2 boob now. How long is this going to last? REALLY need 2 change this feeding time 2 8 AM for when I go back to wk otherwise baby comes 2 store in sling! 11:02 AM Mar 26th from TwitterBerry

Reading paper with baby wrapped around my leg. Miss those days when comfort can be had by holding onto Mama. 10:32 AM Mar 26th from TwitterBerry

Dang! We really need groceries. Leftover chicken and rice for brekkie. Yum! 10:25 AM Mar 26th from TwitterBerry

AAARRRRRRGHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!! 10:16 AM Mar 26th from TwitterBerry

Getting up. Hope hubby had the foresight to make a pot of java. Otherwise neighbours will hear hysterical screaming. 10:14 AM Mar 26th from TwitterBerry

S’ok. Hubby got him. Yay hubby! I love my…zzzzz 9:20 AM Mar 26th from TwitterBerry

Still in bed. Can hear baby. NOOOOO! 9:17 AM Mar 26th from TwitterBerry

Do you Twitter? Or is it Tweet? Does anyone realize how silly it sounds?


About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in blogging and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to What The Twit?

  1. Anonymous says:

    Thanks for adding me =) I didn’t even notice until just now >.M
    You know it’s such a coincidence that we both decided to talk about not jumping on the twitter boat on the same day around the same time.

  2. materix01 says:

    Wow, thank you so much for adding me =)
    It’s such a coincidence that we both posted something about twitter on the same day around the same time. Check out the video at the end of my last post.

  3. Dickey T says:

    Awesome. Is there a way I can link this with our post at stupid answers? We also need some questions from women, so we are not a site full of testosterone :)

  4. Lubi :) says:

    haaa haaaaa haaaaa :D u r hilarious m’dear!!

  5. altari says:

    That’s your whole day?! Goodness, I’m not alone in this world… except the ‘Gerber’ and the ‘beer’ parts :)

  6. I confess, I’m on twitter. And sometimes the stream of nonsense is similar to your mock simulation. But you don’t have to follow those people. I have met at least 5 amazing people via twitter and landed 2 jobs through contacts I’ve made on twitter. I’ve also learned a lot about social media marketing and blogging through posts with links to great articles. Plus, it’s another way for me to stalk Anthony Bourdain. :)

  7. BTW…forgot to mention that I agree that all the jargon sounds ridiculous. Tweets, Tweeple, etc…. but one that hasn’t taken off but that was suggested by someone I follow…the past tense of “tweet” should be “twat”. That’s good stuff. :)

  8. I know. Who gives a freak about what these peeps are doing 24/7? I know nobody cares about my every move–and if they did. I’d be thinking–stalker!

    • myra36 says:

      Too true! It’s like these people need to validate what they do every second of every day. It’s as if they’re saying, “If I’m followed on Twitter, I exist.”

Leave a Reply

