Why Me?

Why do strangers insist on making random comments to me and my child when we are out? I don’t recall soliciting any feedback from you.

Yesterday, I was shopping with my son. Spring is finally here! I needed to get out of hibernation and look into getting some new clothes finally. It’s hard now since we’re in recession. I really want to save money. But, dammit! I really need some new duds.

Anyhoo, I wanted to get to the second floor of the mall. Of course, this necessitated an elevator. Some random dude comes in after us. If there is one thing that bugs me the most, is when some yahoos take the elevator even though it is quite obvious that THEY DON”T NEED TO. There are stairs and escalators people! In fact, I do believe that this particular elevator was designated specifically for stroller and handicapped use only. But, I digress.

Well, this guy takes one look at my son in his stroller and harrumphs, “Must be nice to have a chauffeur!”.

WTF?

Did he expect my baby to go around the mall himself? Moreover, was he seriously expecting my son or myself to respond?

If he was trying to be funny, he must stop. You know, try thinking before speaking out loud.

I was immediately reminded of my university days when I was single and doing the scene. Back then I swore that I walked around with a sign on my forehead that said, “Basketcases, come hither!”.

Some things never change.

kick-me

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in motherhood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Why Me?

  1. I was actually amused by the comment, if said in a casual way with a slight smile. If he was sneering or otherwise weird then I have to agree that I’d feel awkward about it.

    • myra36 says:

      Normally, I find these comments funny too. Unfortunately, the guy was kinda creepy in a “Unabomber” way. Clearly, he had a chip on his shoulder.

      I was only going up one floor but the ride seemed to take forever!

      • Matt says:

        I usually find these comments funny as well. But if he was strange or weird, I’d be careful too. There’s lots of weird people out there!

      • myra36 says:

        Yeah, there are a few people out there a couple of cans short of a six-pack. Stranger danger!

  2. materix01 says:

    *sigh*
    I don’t think it was creepy. But I’m not you and I don’t know the circumstances.
    Besides, I’m not even an adult yet, still very much protected and sheltered from the outside world.

  3. materix01 says:

    harrumphs, “Must be nice to have a chauffeur!”

    Lol, now that I think about it, it is quite strange to harrump that…
    Maybe he was having a bad day and was envious at the fact children are absolved of the responsibilites of adult life?

    • myra36 says:

      He might have been. But to envy something as innocent as a child is…I don’t know. He should careful of what to wish for. He may end up being wheeled around and in diapers later in life himself. I’m not hating! Just pointing out a real possibility.

  4. materix01 says:

    I still think the joke wasn’t too bad, just the circumstances it was in and the way he said it made it really awkward >.<

  5. Lubi :) says:

    I’ve actually turned around in complete rudeness and asked the quipping person ” do I look like I wanna talk to you? do we look like we needed that comment from you? who are you by the way!! ”

    Ahem… yes, I can be very rude, if I wanna be.

    And sometimes, I really wanna be!!

Leave a Reply

