A Letter

To my child,

Someday, someone will tell you how babies are made. It’s pretty interesting and a lot of fun. There are plenty of books on the topic if you want to learn more about it.

I’ve been thinking a lot this week and there are a lot of things in the world that are upsetting to people. Some of those things are written down in books and sometimes those books have illustrations. Not everyone is upset by the same kinds of things. Sometimes people talk about whether kids should be allowed to see those pictures and whether those pictures are harmful to minors.

In case it ever comes up when you are older (I may get all puritanical in my old age), here is a short list of some of the things I worry may be harmful or upsetting for you to view someday.

assassinations
natural disasters
ethnic cleansing
people hurting other people
segregation
weapons and their damage
poverty and hunger
crime scene photos

There is a lot of hurt, pain, and ugliness on the world. I wish sometimes that I brought you into a safer place. But, for every random act of violence, injustice, and inequality that takes place, there is also hope, goodness, and kindness. I pray that you will see more of the latter.

I know that you will see images of all of these hurtful things – maybe before you are ready and definitely before I am ready. I’m not going to blindfold you to protect you from seeing the world. Pretending such things don’t exist does not make them go away. I don’t think you will ever be “old enough”. However, I’ll do my best to talk to you about what you see and explain anything I can to help you understand. I may not have all the answers. But, know that I will always be there for you.

Love,
Mommy

hope1

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in motherhood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Letter

  1. Lubi :) says:

    *heart-touching*

  2. Cyndi says:

    Great post! That’s all we can do. Explain the craziness in the world as best we can and keep the lines of communication open.

    • myra36 says:

      Thanks cyndi!

      I’m not looking forward to having those types of conversations but they are a necessary evil of parenting I suppose.

      Take care!

Leave a Reply

