Baby On The Brain

I came across this article about the decision to have or not have children.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/magazine/7884138.stm

I thought it was pretty relevant in light of all the hoopla surrounding celebrities having babies and Octomom. It seems that parenthood is all the rage these days.

There was a time in my life where I believed that I would not have children. I didn’t think that I would be a good mother. I loved partying with my friends. I enjoyed being able to do what I wanted whenever I wanted.  And, I didn’t feel any desire to pass my DNA on.

So, I guess you could say that my son was unplanned.

Regrets? Absolutely not. I have no words for the joy that my child has given me.

However, I do understand why some people choose not to become parents. And, that’s OK. Do I think that they’re missing out? Maybe. But, it’s not my place to try to convince them otherwise. Parenthood, after all, is not a glamorous job. Yes, you can have the Bugaboo stroller, coordinating baby sling, Pottery Barn furniture, and bamboo clothing. But, that doesn’t do away with the sleepless nights, poop on the rug, vomit on all of your clothes, and unrelenting pressure to mould a life into an intelligent, moral contributing member of society. Must I also add to that the financial drain and lifestyle upheaval too?

Do I want more children?

YES!

I’ve discovered that I’m stronger, more giving, more patient, and more capable than I’ve thought possible. Parenthood is  also the most demanding, exhausting, and infuriating thing I’ve ever done. To all those who think staying at home to take care of a baby is a cushy job can simply kiss my ass.

dscn1317

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in motherhood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Baby On The Brain

  1. Lubi :) says:

    awww Shonu :D cho chweet!! luv dat pic Myra!!!

  2. darkeve says:

    I’m a bit fickle especially when it comes to having children. I sometimes think that I couldn’t possibly do that and other times I think that my life will be incomplete if I don’t have children, but then again I wonder about the kind of mother I will be.

    I also agree with you on the fact that motherhood is one of the toughest jobs ever. I’d rather work for 12 hours a day instead of babysitting for a couple of hours if I’m tired. It’s very exhausting and stressful and that’s only babysitting and not being a fulltime mom!

    Best of luck :)

  3. Evenshine says:

    Funny- I just read an article more or less like this in the latest issue of Parents. The author was saying that she was prompted to think about the “more” issue after her second’s 1st birthday, throwing out the birthday hat (ultimately, keeping it!). Her conclusion was that if there’s conscious, logical thought on the matter, and you still don’t know, then you *might* be open to more kids.
    And neither of mine were “planned”. I abhore that term. Who cares if they’re planned or not? They’re part of you, they’re here, enjoy!

    • myra36 says:

      Mmm..I may have to pick up that issue.

      I really want another child. But, am I crazy for thinking that it’s not fiscally possible right now? My plan is to work the required number of hours so that I have enough EI built up to be able to take a year off work. I hate how I have to think about it in terms of dollars and cents. I’m just trying to be responsible. But, to attach a price tag to a baby seems so …wrong. It’s like measuring the carbon footprint of a child and determining whether or not it’s ecologically sound to have another kid. Sigh.

  4. All three of my boys were “oopsies”–meaning that hubby and I felt comfortable enough in our marriage to get a little careless–yet we were not actively planning kids because we thought we were not financially ready. We did just fine and they truly are the best thing that could ever have happened.

    It kind of scares me that the most educated and caring parents are limiting the number of children they have–while many of those least able to properly nurture a child are having them in droves. This is a much scarier future–have you seen the movie “idiocracy?”

    Have your babies, Myra. You seem like you’ll bring up good caring people. And your son will love having a sibling.

    • myra36 says:

      Thanks for your input mamaneeds2rant!

      I don’t know why I’m trying to rationalize everything. Scared of jumping into another new adventure? I should just let it go and come what may.

      :)

Leave a Reply

