Oy Ve!

What to post? What to post?

Lately, my son has been going through this “I don’t want to lie still to get my diaper changed because I want to see everything NOW” phase. It’s been incredibly frustrating. I’ve tried singing to him, giving him toys to play with, and outright pleading. But, to no avail. No matter how quickly I try to get that diaper on (or his clothes for that matter), he manages to squirm away. It’s fun to be naked and all. But, come on! Short of strapping him down, I don’t know what else to do.

He also wants to touch his…wiener. Is this a boy thing? I’ve asked my husband about this. He said that he’s just checking himself out. Guys do this all the time. Why? It’s not going anywhere. Why don’t women have this type of insecurity? I don’t get it. It’s fine and all. But, I wish that my son would pick his moments. Touching himself when I’m trying to change a poopy diaper is not apropos.

My son is also due for a vaccination. But, he had an accident the other day and now has a black eye. He was cruising along the furniture and slipped. Sigh. Luckily, he didn’t cry, pass out or vomit. I’m resigned to the fact that this may be the first of many. However, I’m afraid to take him to the doctor lest I get the third degree about exactly how he got injured. I know that it’s to make sure that the child’s welfare is being taken care of. But, it’s a bit nerve-wracking. I remember a friend’s daughter who took a tumble off the second stair at home. When she exhibited signs of a concussion, she was brought to the ER. The grilling that my friend got from the nurses on duty was pretty intense. Of course, they’re just doing their job. Still, I think I could do without the disdain and judgement.

Other than that, things are pretty kosher!

45naked-baby-laundry

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in parenthood and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Oy Ve!

  1. onemorning85 says:

    I think it’s charming that your son is so intrigued with everything around him that he won’t lie still. Of course I can only imagine the frustration you feel.

    Don’t worry about the black eye thing. Kids are reckless and things like that are bound to happen, and your sons doctor should understand.

    The nurse probably gave your friend a talking to because she is a woman and mom herself. Assuming that your doctor is male, he should be easy on you. lol.

    <3 Lauren

    • myra36 says:

      Hi! Thanks for dropping by!

      I know my doctor would probably understand. I do find that sometimes mothers are harder on other mothers. As frustrating as it is, I do love how my son’s personality is emerging. He takes after his father for sure. He was constantly getting injured growing up!

  2. rjp123rjp123 says:

    Myra I think vaccination is a controversial issue. Have you considered going to a naturopath to get a second opinion ?

    • myra36 says:

      Vaccination has its supporters and naysayers. Both sides have valid arguments. I think it’s important to do what’s most comfortable for you. We’ve decided to go the vaccination route after considering everything else. Thanks for stopping in!

  3. Lubi :) says:

    haa haaa :) reminds me of this time some 3 years back when I fallen down in the basement and cracked my right knee (just a hairline hurt, thank God!) and I was told by a doc to walk with a cane so I don’t lean my heavy weight onto my weak knee…
    then 3 wks later i got a severe bout of urine infection and had to be hospitalized for 4 days.
    and the nurses just grilled n grilled me asking me to divulge “the truth” if my husband had hurt me and not to be scared and that they would take complete care of me.
    I mean, Come On!!! my husband looks more like a lamb, and I seem more like the devil :))) anyways I had to ask the Doc to stop these nurses from getting on my darned nerves!!
    Man, for a sec, that did look scary to me…but you know Myra…I figured later why the nurses were actin’ that way. Coz so many patients come in that are abused, it’s hard for ’em to make a clean judgement sometimes.

  4. Lubi :) says:

    love that pic btw ;)

  5. Evenshine says:

    I second Lubi- what a great pic!

  6. Cyndi says:

    Hilarious picture! Unfortunately, your husband is right and they never outgrow this. Check out a major league baseball game for example, they’re always rearranging the furniture…on national tv! :)

  7. Pingback: It’s Just A Picture People! « TinyYetMighty

Leave a Reply

