If They’re Screaming, It Means That They’re Not Dead

I came across this awesome video. In it, Gever Tulley bemoans the fact that parents are too overprotective of their kids. He lists 5 (really 6) dangerous things that you should let your kids do. Much to my chagrin, I realized that I’ve only done one of these things (5a) and that was much later in life. I suppose that I’m too much of s princess. Er, how am I going to raise my son? So, I asked my husband. Luckily, with the exception of 5a, he had done all of these dangerous things by the time he was seven. I feel much better now.

Here’s the link to the video:

5 dangerous things

But, to save you the trouble, here are the 5 dangerous things that your kids should do:

1) play with fire

2) own a pocket knife

3) throw a spear

4) deconstruct appliances

5) (a) break millenium digital copyright act (ie. download music and rip onto CD)

5) (b) drive a car

If supervised, these are all perfectly sound, educational, and fun things for your children to partake in. Obviously, some of these things are require some boundaries – especially #2 unless you want your child to be vilified as the one responsible for his school’s lockdown. But, the point is that we need to stop sheltering our children. They need to learn how to be confident and strong within their environment. The last thing we need is a generation of wussies.

betamax

https://tinyyetmighty.wordpress.com/2009/01/10/be-back-when-its-dark/

https://tinyyetmighty.wordpress.com/2009/01/23/if-you-ate-dirt-holler/

https://tinyyetmighty.wordpress.com/2009/01/07/catch-me/

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to If They’re Screaming, It Means That They’re Not Dead

  1. gever tulley says:

    If you liked that, you might also enjoy my latest TED talk, now available as a comic book: http://blog.ted.com/2009/02/tinkering_schoo.php

  2. Vicky says:

    Love your sense of humor…I don’t have kids, but I do have a puppy. It’s amazing how you can substitute some of the words like….he’s barking, and barking, and barking, so at least he’s not dead. I am crate training him and when he is quiet, I have to sneak up and check on him to make sure he isn’t! Anyway, AlphInventions somehow found my blog and it is amazing the hits I have had today. Your blog really caught my eye in the few seconds it was on the screen. I am adding it to my favorite blog list so I can read more of yours. I’d love for you to check out mine also…mine is more pet humor related, but I love your sense of humor about kids…I know a lot of them. Since I am new to AlphaInventions I would love any feedback you have on them. Keep up the good work…I will be a regular reader. Vicky

    • myra36 says:

      OMG! Thank you so much! I just started using AlphaInventions so I’m still trying to figure it out. Believe it or not, I’m not the most computer-savvy person out there. Lol. Anyway, thanks for dropping a line. I’ll be sure to check your blog. Take care!

Leave a Reply

