blah blah blah

Hmmm..

As you can see, I’ve changed the appearance of my blog. I was getting bored with my old theme. I wanted to change it up. I’m a chick that way. But, if this is your first time here then you wouldn’t know otherwise. In any case…WELCOME!

There haven’t been any new developments on the domestic front. My hubby  is still pulling in mad hours at the hospital. God bless him! I told him that he should squeeze in as much overtime as possible before I go back to work.  A part of me is looking forward to working again. I think I need the change of scenery and interaction with other people. Another part of me is apprehensive that my son won’t handle the change very well. I also don’t want to miss a single minute of him growing up. Sigh.

There have been a few recent events that have got me thinking.

Let me share.

We’ve finally put in the new car seat in for the little bugger. Great. But, what do we do with the old one now? Has anyone really thought about this? It takes up an insane amount of room.  You can’t recycle it. You usually can’t sell it (places that sell second-hand baby stuff won’t take car seats because it can’t be proven that it wasn’t in an accident – like a helmet, it needs to be replaced after a collision). So, this car seat is now just going to sit there, taunting me. I guess that means we have to have another baby.

Why do we have this insatiable need to subdivide everything? For example, we have organizations that are against domestic abuse, spousal abuse, child abuse,  animal abuse, environmental abuse (yes, pollution is abuse in my book), etc. How about just one group against all abuse? One does not negate the other. The same can be said for diseases and charitable works. I’m not sure there’s enough ribbons and wrist bands to show my support for every one of  these causes.

I just read somewhere that there have been death threats against some of  “octomom’s” (Nadya Suleman) children. Seriously? What kind of world are we in that we have to threaten innocent lives? It’s not their fault that their mother is cuckoo for coco puffs. Now, it’s rumoured that she’s looking to purchase a $1.2 million dollar home even though she is $20 000 behind in mortgage payments. How is this possible? I know she has a website soliciting donations. But, are people really sending her money? I don’t know if she’s certifiable or a master genius for manipulating the media, the system, and the general public to serve her own diabolical means. Someone else was like that…his name was Hitler.

There’s also reports that the whole 13 year old-becoming-a-father debacle is a scam.  Seriously? Here’s the link:

http://mansinc.com/2009/02/19/british-tabloid-scam/

Since you suck as a mother, you feel it necessary to throw your daughter under a bus for financial gain. OK, so sex education seems to be non-existent in England. Shouldn’t parents be held accountable as well? Oh wait, they’re teenagers too.

I don’t get twitter. Are there really people out there who want to know what I’m doing every 5 minutes? I don’t know what I’m doing every 5 minutes. Micro-blogging? I call it too lazy to have a real blog. Another way to communicate? What happened to talking? Maybe I’m getting old. Sigh.

OK, I think I’m done spewing randomness. Ta.

blah

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in current events and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to blah blah blah

  1. Evenshine says:

    Ummm…Hitler? I think there’s a very great difference between killing millions of people and asking for help with a large family. I sure hope people are sending her money. It would revive my faith in the goodness of mankind.

  2. myra36 says:

    The comparison was meant to allude to the manipulation of media and public opinion to serve one’s higher agenda. It was also a bit sarcastic (and maybe provocative). Not that I’m downplaying the tragedy of the Holocaust but we’ve seen how powerful a tool the media can be in getting what you want. Also, both individuals believed what they’re doing is right despite the evidence that it is delusional and dangerous.

    I’m all for helping one another. My husband came from a family of nine kids. But did they set up a website asking people to donate? No. The problem I have with people sending money is that there is absolutely no guarantee that the money will be put to good use. The fact that their home is facing foreclosure illustrates my point. If people want to help, send clothing or toys. They can even set up a trust fund that can be bestowed when the kids turn 21. How about a third-party conservator? The thing is that I don’t trust HER. I feel for the kids and the grandparents though.

    Thanks for your feedback evenshine. I appreciate it and welcome the dialog. Take care.

    • Evenshine says:

      I agree that some of her actions seem wildly irresponsible. But thinking that the poor are only worthy of help if they’re somehow deserving (and how does one measure that??) can lead to huge problems. So what if she’s facing foreclosure? Doesn’t that indicate the level of her need?

      Thanks for clarifying the Hitler thing. I assumed you were exaggerating. Hitler’s hard to play with, though, especially on a read medium like a blog where people can’t hear your tone of voice.

      Interesting convo. Cheers.

  3. jill says:

    blog-hopped my way here…wanted to add something about your carseat. I don’t know where you are, but you may be able to get rid of it using freecycle.org…someone would be happy to have it! I’ve gotten rid of the most random things on freecycle, so I have no doubt that a carseat would have a taker in a second.

Leave a Reply

