I’m Not Crazy

mask1I wrote a post earlier about wanting my son to get sick in order to strengthen his immune system. Here it is:

https://tinyyetmighty.wordpress.com/2009/01/26/beyond-the-velvet-rope/

It sounds counterintuitive to let your child get into everything. But, as I’ve said before – if it doesn’t kill ’em, it will make them stronger. Well, I read an article in the National Post that sort of validates this way of thinking. The article originally appeared in the New York Times. Here’s the link:

http://query.nytimes.com/gst/fullpage.html?res=9C01EFD71231F934A15752C0A96F9C8B63

Whew! And, my sister thinks I’m crazy for wanting my son to eat dirt. Mmmm, we live in a condo. How is my son going to make mud pies?

So, throw away those hand sanitizers and ban antiseptics from your home. Not only will you save money, but your child just might be a little bit healthier. Honestly.

flu

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m Not Crazy

  1. Ena Pang says:

    Hey Myra, I believe what you’re saying. I’m not extra careful with my son as well. It’s great to think positive like this when little ones got sick, no point stress over it, sickness will only make them stronger :)

  2. myra36 says:

    Thanks for dropping by Ena! My parents are both nurses. But when we got sick as kids, medicine and doctors were a last resort. My mom found that chicken soup for colds and ginger ale for fevers worked best. And they did! I think nowadays people tend to overprotect and overmedicate.

Leave a Reply

