New Angels

sleepMy heart goes out to families whose loved ones were involved in the tragedy that happened in Belgium recently. A man, apparently suffering from mental illness, entered a daycare with a knife and proceeded to slash everyone in his path. Two babies and a female worker were killed, with twelve more badly wounded.

Parents look to daycare centres has havens for their little ones. No one expects this type of brutality to occur – especially to those who are innocent and unable to defend themselves.

I’ve read a couple of posts regarding this tragedy. Most of the comments I’ve seen were condolences and outrage. But, a few have made me question my faith in humanity.

One person in particular had the gall to imply that Europeans are wimps for not trying harder to stop the guy.

Where the hell was everybody else? Hiding under their desks?

I think someone did and now she’s dead. Two other adults tried too and they were stabbed for their efforts. In times of stress, adrenaline kicks in. We have a “fight or flight response”. What would you honestly do in that situation? It’s very easy to say, “Oh, I would have taken out the guy”. But, to actually DO it when the time comes is very different.

Then I saw this comment –

I know y’all don’t have guns. I know you don’t want guns, because that would make you mean people who could stop middle-aged women and babies from being stabbed to death.

What kind of asinine argument is this? Daycares should not need armed staff. If that happens, then I’ll be looking for four horsemen in the distance. Besides, if guns were more readily available then this deranged sicko would not have walked in with a knife. He would have had a GUN!

Here’s another winner –

At least the USA would have the DECENCY to execute this piece of waste, maybe Europe should look at re-instating the death penalty.

Oh. My. God. Granted, the man who committed this crime does not deserve to live. But, that does not mean that he should die. I don’t believe that justice would be served. Moreover, his death would not prevent others from committing the same crime. That is the whole point, isn’t it? Negative reinforcement? Punish bad behavior to encourage good behavior. But, we see from everyday headlines that the death penalty DOES NOT WORK as a deterrent against crime.

I don’t know why things like this happen. I don’t know how they can be prevented. But, fighting violence with more violence can’t possibly solve anything.

sky

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in current events and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Angels

  1. Lauren says:

    Hey, I’m just leaving this comment to let you know “The Gum Thief” came in the mail today. I’m probably going to start it in late February, early March. I’ll let you know how it is!

Leave a Reply

