Diapers Don’t Go Bad

Okay, a funny thing happened when I was at the store yesterday. At least, I thought it was funny.

There I am in Zellers, pondering which flavours of baby food I should get. I’m actually making my own now (thanks for the hand blender, sis!) since it’s more economical and healthier. But, I like to have some commercial stuff on hand for those days when I’m feeling lazy. Bad mommy! Anyway, it was also on sale (10 jars/$5). Score!

So, I’m grabbing a jar of prunes when I hear someone from the next aisle over ask an associate, “Excuse me? Can you tell me where the expiry date is on these diapers?”.

Huh? Diapers go bad? What, what, what? The poor salesperson had obviously never been asked this question before. She scanned the box dutifully before surmising that there wasn’t one. Although, now that I think about it, there might a date of manufacture. I’ll have to check. Anyway, the customer then asked, “Well, you guys always have fresh ones in stock. Right?”. Oh boy.

I don’t want to seem snarky or anything, but come on! It’s one thing to be careful and vigilant about the types of baby products you buy. After all, protecting and maintaining a baby’s health is paramount. But, the “Best Before” date on a box of Pampers should be waaaay down on the list of concerns. Maybe I’m crazy, but something like diapers losing effectiveness over time wouldn’t even occur to me.

As I was shaking in laughter, with my son looking at me with bemusement, the customer and her daughter came into my line of sight. It appeared that her daughter just had a baby and her mother was helping her stock up on supplies. The daughter seemed a bit unsure of everything. So, she let her mother do all the talking to the associate and allowed her to make the decisions on what to get. Knowing that she was most likely exhausted and sleep-deprived, I left quickly so they wouldn’t bear witness to my giggle attack. I remembered back to when my son was just born. With your brain like a sieve and your body feeling like someone hit you with a bag of oranges, it is easier to let others do things for you. I did contemplate putting my two cents in. But, I decided that it was best to let them figure it out for themselves.

As a new mother, you will experience uncertainty. That’s normal. It’s always appreciated to get help and advice from your family and friends. God knows there are so many mothers out there who don’t have those resources available. But, I think that if you are going to enlist the help of someone close to you (especially your mother), you should take their advice with a grain of salt. Their intentions are well-meaning, but you should ultimately know what’s best for your child.

When I was pregnant, I looked over the plethora of information that was out there. It was overwhelming and made my head spin. But, I took what made sense to me and fit in with my belief structure. My mother still gives me advice. But, I just smile and nod my head to let her know that it’s appreciated. When we come over to visit, she can see that my son is clothed, well-fed, and happy. I must be doing something right.

When I left the store, I related what I had seen to my mother-in-law. As she doubled over in laughter, she said “I had always liked to use freshly picked ones myself.” Gotta love her.

But, just to be on the safe side and to satisfy my own curiosity, I did Google “disposable diaper expiry”. A few forums did pop up. Apparently, this was a concern to other people as well. Who would have thunk it? In case you were lying awake in bed wondering… I’m happy to inform you that DIAPERS DON’T GO BAD! Feel better?

diapers

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in motherhood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Diapers Don’t Go Bad

  1. Penny says:

    Thats so funny. The thought that diapers might go bad had never occured to me either. I wonder where she got that from!

Leave a Reply

