Five Best Days In My Life

In a previous post, I featured ten lists that you should make before you die. Here’s my first list. In no particular order:

Five Best Days In My Life

1) August 25, 2001 – My wedding day

ringsThis one is obviously pretty easy. But we almost didn’t make it! Well, we first met waaay back in 1991. Believe or not, he was the first person that I met on the first day of my first year at university. Cheesy I know. But, true! We weren’t in the same program but it turned out that we were taking the same core courses. He actually ended up being my chemistry lab partner. He lived at the all-guys residence while I was at the all-girls one. So, we did see quite a bit of each other. We didn’t hook up until I was in my third year. For reasons that I won’t get into, he was “asked” to leave at the end of second year. He, he. The school suggested that he take an extended vacation so to speak. Anyway, it was by chance that we ran into each other at the student pub. Even more coincidentally, we were both coming off bad relationships. We started dating and eventually moved in together. After a few years, I literally kicked him out. I felt that I was carrying him and being taken for granted. When I look back now, I’m not sure that I was entirely justified. But, I do think that it forced us to rethink our priorities. The year that followed was probably my lowest. I threw myself into too many rebound relationships, got my heart broken numerous times, moved away, partied too much, drank too much, and was generally an ugly person. I finally came crawling back to him, humbled and drained. I probably didn’t deserve it but he took me back. After all that I did to him, he still loved me. And, deep down I knew that he was the one. It just took me a while to figure it out.

So, we are now husband and wife. Seven years and counting!

2) March 1, 2008 – The birth of my son

babyAnother easy one. For some time, I didn’t think that we were destined to become parents. After all, children were dirty, expensive, time-consuming, and a definite hindrance on our lifestyle. But, it happened and our lives are so much better for it. Argh! This is getting sappy and maudlin. Suffice it to say, my son’s birth was a great moment in my life.

3) January 2, 2008 – Becoming a homeowner

Finally, after renting and living with my parents (ugh!), we are homeowners! It seems to be so much harder nowhome than back in my parents’ day. But, it does feel different to have a property deed in your hand rather than a lease. It’s MINE! If I want to paint the walls blood red and have leopard-print floors, I can. It’s MINE! After much blood, sweat, and tears, we are now part of that echelon that can talk about mortgage rates, amortization, and equity. Er, home sweet home!

4) June ??, 1991 – High school graduation

mortarboardI’ll have to look this one up. But, this day stands out to me because it was my first step into adulthood. It was a little sad in that it was sort of my last day of wide-eyed innocence. I also would not be seeing most (if not all) of these people again – people with whom I spent my most formative years. But it was a great, great party.

5) November 12, 2008 – My first post

OK, this may be a little bit of a cop-out. But, blogging is a new thing for me. As with all new things, a certain amountkeyboard of bravery is needed. I’m usually an insular person. I tend to hold things in. So, to share my thoughts and opinions to strangers is a big deal for me. Even though it’s a work-in-progress, blogging has become my way to purge, be creative, and document life moments. I need to get all this stuff out while my brain cells are still intact!

This was a little difficult. There are so many special moments. But, memory is selective and sometimes fuzzy. It is so important to try to document everything – be it through pictures, scrapbook, or blog. I just wish I had done it sooner.

https://tinyyetmighty.wordpress.com/2009/01/18/10-lists-to-make-before-you-die/

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in random thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five Best Days In My Life

  1. darkeve says:

    “The year that followed was probably my lowest. I threw myself into too many rebound relationships, got my heart broken numerous times, moved away, partied too much, drank too much, and was generally an ugly person.” That was me in 2007. I felt like I wrote those few lines about myself when I first read them.

    I’m glad you got together again :) I don’t know how it feels to have met the ONE! I thought I did sometimes, but I always changed my mind.

    About blogging, yes! That is one important day. The first time I had a blog was back in 2005. I liked it, but deleted several blogs through the years, but this time I decided that I won’t do that. I’ll keep this one as a part of my life, hopefully!

    I wish you have happier days :) Years from now you could repost this with your sons wedding day and maybe a daughter?! haha! Best of luck, myra!

  2. myra36 says:

    Yeah, those dark times were tough. I believe now that when you reach your lowest, the only place to go is up. A bit cheesy but true.

    You’re right. I’ll definitely have to update this post in a few years. :)

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

