Where’s The Maytag Man When You Want Him?

Conversation between me and the hubby today –

Me: I hate our dishwasher. We need a new one.

Him: Why? What’s it doing?

Me: It’s leaving food on the dishes. It’s not cleaning then properly.

Him: Then rinse the dishes before putting them in the machine. (pause) Besides, a dishwasher is not supposed to wash your dishes. It’s supposed to sterilize them.

Me: What? It’s called a dishwasher. It’s not an autoclave.

Him: Sure, it is!

Me: We need a new dishwasher.

Him: Well, what are you?

At that point I really, really wanted mutant powers like Phoenix from X-Men and annihilate him into smithereens.  But, I decided that a slow, painful death full of humiliation and degradation would be better. Ideas?

070402_maytag_man

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in husband and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Where’s The Maytag Man When You Want Him?

  1. darkeve says:

    Hahaha!! You remind me of one of my sisters (i have a whole bunch of them). My mom usually cleans the dishes them before putting them in the dishwasher. She thinks that we should clean them first as well, so maybe your husband does have a point. I still don’t agree with the “what are you?” part though. He reminds me of one of my brothers-in law (i have a whole bunch as well)

    One another note, I could ask my book of answers if you should buy a new dishwasher or not? lol

  2. myra36 says:

    Lol. Yeah, my hubby was just being a “man” (i.e. King-of-the-Castle Neanderthal). So, I’m resigned to rinsing the dishes before loading. Like I have the time. :0

  3. darkeve says:

    I was talkin to a friend about the rinsing thing and she said she has this big soft brush with a long handle. She uses the brush to clean the plates before putting them in the dishwasher. That could be easier than rinsing!

  4. myra36 says:

    My goodness, it’s so simple…Thanks!

Leave a Reply

