Catch Me

A mother’s natural instinct is to nurture and protect her child. Now that my son is mobile, he is constantly underfoot.stool He wants to explore his surroundings, test his boundaries, and try out new skills. He is displaying a curious and daring streak. As a result, my son has had a few bumps and falls. Thankfully nothing serious. We’ve baby-proofed our place as much as possible and I try to keep a watchful eye on him as he prowls around. But, I don’t run to him immediately when I see that he’s about to fall. Why? I want him to test his limitations, learn perseverance, and experience achievement. It’s sounds counter-intuitive I know. You want to be protective of your child and prevent him from harm. But I sincerely believe that he needs to trust himself and learn some things on his own.

Don’t get me wrong. I would NEVER intentionally let my child get hurt. But if you have been around children, you would know what happens after they fall. There’s that five seconds of stunned silence. It’s not until you ask them, “Are you hurt?”, that they start wailing. It’s like they know that if they cry, they’ll get something good out of it. A bad habit to get into.

I do second-guess myself sometimes. It’s so hard not to pick him up after he loses his balance. It would be easier to just stick him in his playard so he wouldn’t get into anything. One time, my son got his hand caught in a door. Of course, he HOWLED. I felt like the WORST mother on Earth! At that moment, if you had to put me on a list of bad mothers, I would be at the top and Britney Spears would be second. That’s how horrible I felt. But after five minutes, he was just fine and immediately become engrossed with a stainless steel mixing bowl. Oooh, shiny!

So I know that it will get worse as he grows up. Do I coddle him? Or do I let him figure things out for himself? Am I being cautious? Or am I being over-protective? I guess all I can do is teach him have good judgment and be there when he falls.

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in parenthood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Catch Me

  1. darkeve says:

    My niece started walking lately and she trips and falls all the time. I have spent the past couple of hours trying to get her to sleep. She’s in the exploring phase as well! She’s about 6 months older than your son.

    She’s exactly like your son, she trips and falls and then she stand up again unless I show that I’m worried, she starts crying and sits down again and keeps pointing at me to pick her up.

    And NO! You’re not a bad mother. I believe in the “let him figure things out for himself” strategy. You can’t stop him from getting hurt, but you can prevent serious accidents form happening and be there when little accidents to happen. They’re smart. If she knows that something hurts, she stops doing it and whenever she’s doing something wrong, she keeps looking at me every once in a while to make sure I’ll be there if something goes wrong or I’ll even stop her if it’s seriously wrong.

    And you summed it all up in “I guess all I can do is teach him have good judgment and be there when he falls.”

    I never thought about being a mother. Seriously! Being around children changed that. My favorite moment today was when she fell asleep in my arms. I can’t describe how I feel when does that.

    Best of luck myra! And for what it’s worth, I think you’re a great mother :)

  2. myra36 says:

    Thank you! I’m trying! Lol. I’m learning as I go obviously. I never thought that I would be a mother either. Never say never I guess. :)

  3. fawnahareo says:

    Hi myra36 :) Thanks for dropping by and making me feel better.

    I’m totally with you on the philosophy of “let them explore” and, yes, even get (just a little) hurt sometimes. I’ll admit that I’m a lot more protective these days (my daughter developed epilepsy this past year and she hits her head enough when she has “drop” seizures that make her fall) but I hope someday I can feel like just letting her run around again. It’s what kids should do!

  4. Pingback: If They’re Screaming, It Means That They’re Not Dead « TinyYetMighty

  5. Pingback: Where’s Your Helmet Gordie? « TinyYetMighty

Leave a Reply

