2008 Review

I’ve never done a year-end review before. I had to really think! I wish I had started this blog earlier to keep track of everything that happened this year. You’ll notice that a few revolve around a single momentous event. Anyway, here we go:

new_years_eve31. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?
Give birth.

2. Did you keep your New Year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I didn’t make any for 2008 but I think I will for 2009.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Yes, my cousin.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
No, but I was sad to hear about Majel Barrett-Roddenberry’s passing. I’m a big Trekker.

5. What countries did you visit?
None. I stayed in Canada.

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?
Foresight, awareness and a Wii.

7. What date from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

March 1, 2008 – birth of my son.

8. What was your biggest achievement of 2008?
Becoming a mother.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Not upgrading my skills during my maternity leave..

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Nope. Much to the consternation of my husband, I rarely get sick

11. What was the best thing you bought?
A new home.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
My husband for taking 6 weeks of paternity leave and being an amazing father.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
Nobody made me depressed but a lot of celebrities were appalling. Sarah Palin and Dubya are up there too.

14. Where did most of your money go?
The baby and our new home.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
So You Think You Can Dance Canada. Nico Archambault made my heart flutter.

16. What song will always remind you of 2008?
“Just Dance” by Lady Gaga.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. happier or sadder?
Definitely happier.

ii. thinner or fatter?
Thinner but only because I was preggers last year.

iii. richer or poorer?
Poorer financially but richer spiritually.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Taking pictures of my expanding belly and saving money.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Junk food.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?
Spent it with family.

21. What was your favorite month of 2008?
December… holiday month!

22. Did you fall in love in 2008?
Yes, with my son and my husband (again).

23. How many one-night stands?
Hello? None! But a few sleepless nights.

24. What was your favorite TV program?
SYTYCD Canada, ANTM

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Not sure. I don’t think so.

26. What was the best book you read?
“Eat, Pray, Love” by Elizabeth Gilbert. I did succumb and read “Twilight” though.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Glasvegas, Santogold, Paramore, Boyce Avenue

28. What did you want and get?
A healthy baby.

29. What did you want and not get?
New work skills. Two inches in height.

30. What was your favorite film of this year?
Ironman – it was the only one I saw.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I was in Toronto and I turned…older.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Being wiser and richer.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?
Yummy mummy – function with flair.

34. What kept you sane?
Friends.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Orlando Bloom but Robert Pattison has turned my head lately.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
US elections.

37. Who did you miss?
Some of my friends who have moved away.

38. Who was the best new person you met?

My son.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008.

Don’t sweat the small stuff. Some things are beyond your control – especially when your pregnant and hormonal.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
Baby, when it’s love if it’s not rough it isn’t fun

The questions are courtesy of http://thecasualobserver.wordpress.com/

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in random thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2008 Review

  1. darkeve says:

    After reading your post, I bought Eat, Pray, Love last night and I’m gonna start reading it next week :)

    I love the fact that your life rotates about you husband and son and still you do other things and you have different interests. That’s definitely not easy.

    I can imagine how magical it is having a new baby in the family. I’m crazy about my nephew and niece. After a long day at work just holding them and hearing them trying to talk, but making no sense at all makes everything ok. I never thought I’d feel this way about children, but well I do!

    Best of luck in 2009!

    I linked you in my blog if you dont mind :)

  2. myra36 says:

    Excellent! I’ve added you to my Blogroll as well.

    Hope you enjoy the book. It’s divided into three parts. The middle kind of dragged for me but the last part was probably my fave and made the book for me.

    It’s funny that you mention I have different interests. I promised myself that when I became a mother I wouldn’t be one of those parents who talked about their kids ALL THE TIME. Lol. But, children certainly become your whole universe. I hope to have more.

    Anyway, hope 2009 started off well for you!

Leave a Reply

