Should Auld Acquaintance Be Forgot

auld-lang-syneAnother year come and gone. I have to say that 2008 was certainly the biggest year for me. New baby and new home are huge life changes. Ten years ago I never thought that I’d be where I am. I never thought that the drinking and partying would ever stop. I never thought I would have to grow up and bring a life into the world. I try not to look back and think that time was a waste. If I didn’t go through all that self-centred bullsh-t, I wouldn’t be the person that I am now. I don’t mean to get all New Age, but things happen for a reason. No regrets.

I haven’t decided on resolutions yet. I’m almost afraid to make them because if they’re not kept, then it’s an EPIC FAIL on my part. Maybe they should be called something else. Goals? Rules? Promises? Suggestions? Hopes? I like that one. Here are my hopes for 2009:

1) Patience and understanding – especially when my son decides that a poopy diaper is something that should be taken off and waved around.

2) Goodwill towards all – a simple smile can make someone’s day. Can you imagine how much nicer the world would be if we just smiled at one another? I mean genuine, heart-felt ones not smarmy leers.

3) More Earth love – I don’t think interplanetary space travel or terra-forming will happen in my lifetime so I strive to do my little bit to keep the planet we do have alive.

4) More self love – more physical activity (notice that I didn’t say exercise), better food choices (no diets), and more time for myself.

I look ahead to 2009 with hope and optimism.

Happy New Year’s everyone!

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in random thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

