I Heart Books

I just found this quote:

A book is a present that you can open again and again

I wish I knew who said it. But, I love it. I also love books. Put me in a bookstore and there’s three hours of my life I’ll happily give away. Our place is full of books. Since my husband and I have different reading tastes, our collection covers fiction, quantum physics, biographies, teen lit, Shakespeare, chick lit, poetry, biology, finance, sports, fantasy, and sci-fi. Some of the books that we’ve grown up with have been passed to our son. He’ll have to wait til he’s older. But, in addition to his own Baby Einstein and Dr. Suess, he can look forward to Shel Silverstein, Beatrix Potter, Robert Munsch, and E.B. White. Since he’s in that teething and grabbing stage, it will be board books for a while.

When it came to making up Christmas lists, I told my family that we would prefer that our baby receive books in lieu of toys. My friend argued, “He’s a baby! He needs toys!”. Well, that’s easy for you to say. You don’t have to live with the mess and noise. I did ask for wooden blocks though. Only because every kid needs blocks and that they’re surprisingly hard to find. Thanks to my brother, we have them now strewn across his room. But they’re educational, colourful, and add to the decor.

There are tons more that I still need to get. I wish I didn’t live out in the suburbs sometimes as all the used bookstores are downtown. I could go to the library. But that means I have to give the books back. I like the romantic notion of holding onto books and passing them on. Like a scrapbook, a book can hold memories and act as a touchstone to a certain time. One book may transport me back to a special summer. Another one reminds me of my university days (and how rarely I actually read the bloody thing).

They have been talking about E-books for some time now. But, I don’t believe that the printed book is going away anytime soon. Thank God.

books

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in random thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Heart Books

  1. darkeve says:

    I’m a book addict as well. I have to keep the books and whenever I feel down I go to a bookstore and that will be my heaven. I usually read 5 books all at once. It usually depends on my mood.

    I’m glad you like books too. I’ll make a weekly entry for what I’m currently reading, that will be a good way of sharing what we’re readinf or giving each other ideas about what to read next.

    Regarding tatses, I read anything and everything. If I’m alone and you give me the most boring book ever, I will still read it and get my list of favorite parts (there has to be favorite parts).

  2. myra36 says:

    I used to read a few books at the same time too. But, I’ve had to stop because I found that I wasn’t absorbing what I was reading as much as I wanted. Right now, it’s “The Gum Thief” by Douglas Coupland.

  3. Faithieee says:

    When I go to bookstores, I can spend hours, I bet even days, there. If I could, I’d get one of everything! I love re-reading books too, and passing on good ones to friends. :)

Leave a Reply

