Right Place, Right Time

I just read a friend’s blog about random acts of kindness. Since it’s the season of giving, I’d thought that I would relate my own experience.

It was about 8 or 9 years ago. I was working downtown at the time but still living way out in the ‘burbs. Needless to say the commute sucked monkey balls. After a long day of being a drone, I was ready to head home and have a bottle of wine. As I was sitting on the train, waiting for it to leave the platform, I overheard a couple of ladies in the seats ahead ask a guy if he wanted Raptors tickets. I’m not a huge basketball fan but I enjoy supporting the homeboys. I must have stuck my head up like a gopher because they saw me. “Do you want Raptors tickets?”, one of them asked. “Sure”, I said, “How much?”. “Oh no. Don’t worry about it”. Whaaaaat?

Apparently, these ladies were given a pair of corporate tickets but were unable to use them. Rather than have them go to waste, they decided to just give them away. They could have profited off those seats easily since they were in the Platinum section. They could have given them to a friend or family member. They even could have tossed them. It’s not like they paid for them in the first place. But, they decided to pay it forward and give them to a total stranger.

Sweet! However, the tickets were for a game that was happening that evening (in less than two hours in fact) and the train was starting to pull away. Oh boy. I quickly got on the cell with my hubby and explained the situation. I told him to meet me at the station ASAP. We had to really motor it back to the city to see the game.

Although we missed most of the first quarter, seeing the basketball game courtside was phenomenal! I just wish I had a camera with me. Everything was just more intense – the music, the action, the excitement. Seeing the game live is so much better.

I wish I was able to properly thank those two ladies. It wasn’t just an NBA game. My husband and I hardly do anything spontaneous together. So, those tickets enabled us to have fun and remember what it was like when we were first dating. It never occurred to me to ask for a number or email to return the favour. But I guess that’s what makes it a random act of kindness. When you do something for a complete stranger, you don’t expect anything in return. If it’s a friend or family member, they feel indebted to you.

I felt like I had won the lottery that day. In fact, that feeling remained with me for the rest of the week. I didn’t mind commuting to work. I kind of hoped something like that would happen again. It didn’t of course. But, I felt good about humanity again – until Boxing Day at least. But I digress. It doesn’t take a lot – a smile, holding a door open, giving spare change. We don’t have to look out only for ourselves. Borders may divide us but we are all human. So let’s act like it.

flower

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in random thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Right Place, Right Time

  1. darkeve says:

    Random acts of kindness make me feel better when I’m the doer actually. I remember a time when I used to be kind. I’m younger than most of the people that I work with and I have to be firm and serious and sometimes evil and at some point in time I changed, I couldnt draw the line between my personal life and the new me at work so I don’t classify myself as a kind person anymore. I have to make my calculations and I cant waste my time helping an old lady cross the street anymore unless she’s an important person of course. That sucks! I know and I remember I promised myself that work is not going to change me and being promoted wont make me a different person, but it did. Sadly, I’m not the same person anymore and I don’t know if I can change back.

  2. myra36 says:

    I can relate.I had a job once that changed who I was. I worked too much and wasn’t the most pleasant person to work with. I would lose my temper too easily. Outside of work, I drank too much and partied too hard. I lost about 15 pounds and was just exhausted mentally and emotionally. Even though it paid very well and afforded me a lifestyle I enjoyed, I left that job. I moved back to my parents’ and took some “me” time for a few months. It was a financial and career risk but it helped me in the long run.

Leave a Reply

