God Bless Us, Every One

This will be my son’s first Christmas. Being only 9 months old, I doubt that he’ll remember anything. Even so, we’ve gotxmas tree the tree up and sing Christmas jingles when we can (OK, only one – Santa Claus Is Coming To Town. I can’t remember all the words to anything else). So, do I get him a present? He really doesn’t need clothes. Thanks to his cousins’ hand-me-downs, he’s still got enough to last at least until his first birthday (Oh hell, that’s only a few months away!). He’s got more than enough toys. Besides, they take up too much room and can’t be recycled. He would get more educational value out of an empty cardboard box. He can’t open it. And, he wouldn’t appreciate it. I don’t think that by some Christmas miracle he’ll say “Thanks mum! It’s just what I wanted”. Actually, that would really freak me out.

In fact, my husband and I aren’t even getting each other Christmas gifts. It’s not that we can’t be bothered. We just don’t need anything. Oh sure, there are lots of things that we’d both like to have. I myself have been eying a Coach bag. <Sigh> I’m sure that he would love a new golf driver. But, we’ve decided to forgo the expense and just enjoy spending the time together with our son. Awwww. Actually that’s enough to make me throw up a little in my mouth. Would you like wine with that cheese?

Anyway, I’ve decided that we have too much stuff! There are presents from our wedding still stashed in our closet that will probably never see the light of day. We live in a condo so space is at a premium. Our locker downstairs is threatening to burst. I almost dread Christmas because it means having to find room for all our new things. That’s why I like consumable gifts. Wine, coffee, and food are no less thoughtful and don’t threaten to overtake your home.

So I hope, come Christmas morning, that I’ll be sipping an Irish coffee, with my husband rubbing my feet and our son scampering around his “new” box. Cheers.

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

