Just Do It

Just said g’nite to one of my best buds. We just watched the finale of SYTYCD Canada. Of course Nico won! Was there any doubt? Gratuitous photo? Hell yeah!

nico1

I’m so bad.

I haven’t blogged about my baby in a while. Me thinks I’ve been wrapped up in a certain French man. Mmmmm…

Well, my son is fabulous. It’s almost boring. He really is too good. He sleeps when he’s supposed to. He eats whatever I give him. He seems to be developing normally. I wish I had these horror stories I keep hearing about from other parents. Is good abnormal? Does this mean he’ll be the second coming of Damien when he’s a teenager?

We were at a Christmas party the other night. My cousin’s daughter, who is two I think, kept jumping onto my lap. Then she would change her mind, go back to her mother, and then come back to me. Over and over again. It was all fine of course. I need the practice in preparation for the “terrible twos”. So I put up with it – even though I tried to explain to her that I was still eating my dinner. Then she spied my son’s toys. She didn’t ask. She just took them – from my son’s clenched fist! Thankfully, my son didn’t freak out, but he did have this “I’m-gonna-remember-this- and-get-back-at-you-later-in-life” look. I glanced over to my cousin, who just rolled her eyes and sighed. I had to let it go. I don’t discipline other kids. But, seriously? Seriously? What do you do?

I understand that children are demanding. Being a parent is the most difficult and thankless job in the world. It is so easy to give in when you’re tired and don’t want the hassle. But, who’s in charge? You? Or your child?

I know what kind of parent I want to be. I don’t want to be a tyrant, but I want discipline. I don’t want to be a best friend, but I want to be someone he can come to for anything. I want to love and get love back. Easier said than done, right?

I look to my parents for inspiration. They immigrated to Canada with nothing and English as a second language. Yet, they were able to raise four well-adjusted (I think!) children. They were able to provide a comfortable home, afford post-secondary education for all of us and instill a positive work ethic. That’s a lot to live up to. And, there wasn’t any maternity leave back then. It kills me to realize that I didn’t appreciate any of it when I was growing up. Oh, the guilt! Payback is a bitch.

Thankfully, I’ve been able to experience what to do and what not to do. Now actually doing it…

feeling_safe

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in parenthood and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

