Tis the Season

xmascheerThis will be my son’s first Christmas. So, of course, I’ve been singing him Christmas songs. At least I’ve been trying to. By introducing him to this new holiday, I’ve realized two things:

1) I can’t sing worth a lick.

2) I don’t know the words to anything.

Imagine my shock and horror when I stumbled over the words to “Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer”! In the middle of singing while feeding him lunch, I blank out trying to remember all the freakin’ reindeer names. I’m the mother for the love of God! It’s my job to know and do everything!

Here I am, doing what the books say you should do – sing songs to your baby so that he knows your voice and learns how to speak. And, all I’m teaching him is how to sing off-key and frighten dogs. Argh!

Don’t get me started on Christmas shopping. What is it with people losing their minds and dignity when at the mall? I’m hoping with the current economic slump that it won’t be too crazy. I’m giving everyone gift cards and booze. Gift cards are practical and don’t have any excess packaging. And, who doesn’t like liquor?

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in parenthood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tis the Season

  1. what a good motto…gift cards and booze..I think I will do this too! :)

Leave a Reply

