Shopping!

Oops! I missed yesterday. Oh well. What did we do?

The mission was to find a Don Cherry-esque suit. I know, totally random. But, the hubby is coaching a charity hockey game and thought that channeling the Don-meister would be apropos. So off to Value Village we went.

I LOVE second hand stores. I simply love the thrill of the hunt. Like most women, I cannot resist the lure of a bargain. My husband, like most men, can’t stand to be in any store longer than ten minutes. Get in, get out. I firmly believe that men’s inability to shop is biological. Men used to be hunters. They saw a woolly mammoth. Killed it. Job done. Women were gatherers. Finding the right plants, water, and wood necessitated spending time going to different places. Precursor to bargain-hunting and comparison-shopping. So, it was a special day when HE suggested that we come to Value Village.

First area we hit was Men’s jackets. Since Halloween is over, all the obnoxious, Jackson Pollack-after-a-bender type outfits were gone. Nevertheless, we were able to find a suitable double-breasted number that was boxy enough to hide a family of Mexican wrestlers.

While he was poring over shirts, I wandered over to the Baby section. Within ten minutes, I had 20 articles of clothing hanging off the back of the stroller. Common sense prevailed luckily and I was able to separate needs from wants. It was like taking cupcakes away from a toddler though. I WANT IT All! GIVE IT TO ME! I finally narrowed it down to a long-sleeved onesie, two t-shirts, and a pair of overalls. All for 10 bucks. Cha-ching!

I then went over to Books.

I LOOOOVE books. I can spend hours in a bookstore. Books are my heroin. I have more books than I can possibly read. Yet I still buy more. Unfortunately, we’ve had to remove our bookshelves from the living room as soon as our son showed signs of becoming mobile. Our books are now stacked up in piles around our bedroom. Very Bohemian-chic.

It was there that my husband found me. In my greedy hands I had Shaw’s “Pygmalion”, “Eat, Pray, Love” by Elizabeth Gilbert, “The Gum Thief” by Douglas Coupland, Machiavelli’s “The Prince”, and “Tess of the D’Urbervilles” by Thomas Hardy. Two bucks apiece and “Buy 4, Get 1 free”. Sweet and sweet. Being a reader himself, my hubby supported my book habit and fulfilled his role as enabler.

The Man needed help finding a suitable shirt. As I mentioned before, the selection of clothing with the right amount of taste-defying wattage was slim. We settled on a surprisingly tasteful purple-striped number. A look at the label revealed it to be a Burberry. Price? Eight dollars. Cha-ching!

So, all in all it was a successful day of shopping. With the first snow (for our area anyway) starting to fall, we topped it off a with a visit to a Vietnamese place in the plaza for a bowl of soul-warming beef pho. Priceless.

beef pho

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in shopping and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

