Talk To Me Already

Okay. Here I am at the computer trying to get to get another blog out. Baby is in his crib with the expectation that he is to take a nap before dinner. But, of course, he has other ideas and is banging away with his myriad of plastic links like a caged lunatic. I suppose he’s amused because he’s not crying. Good.

It occurs to me that some people may put more work into maintaining their blog than their own marriage or other relationships. Why? There’s no financial gain (there’s always hope). A blog won’t love you back and make you feel fuzzy-wuzzy (actually, I lie. I LOVE seeing how many hits I’ve gotten. Makes my toes curl). Ninety-nine percent of the time you don’t get any sort of feedback. You just dangle yourself out there in the cyberspace abyss. Is it all for naught?

As a new mother, I’m with my son 24-7. My husband works 48 hours a week, sometimes putting in overtime. When he’s home, he’s sleeping. If I don’t get out, my son is the only person I get to converse with. Oh, what long, drawn-out convos there are!

“That’s a lot of poo!”

“Don’t touch that!”

“We’re having prunes today!”

“Say mama. Say mama. Mama. Mama. MAMA!”

I suppose my blog enables me to pretend I’m talking with other adults. Ooh, I sound like a candidate for psycho therapy! But, it’s true. I also get the junk out of my head. And, I like the practice of writing out complete sentences. We don’t write enough anymore. For that matter, we don’t even talk enough anymore. I admit I’m guilty of instant messaging my friends rather than calling them. Our communication has been reduced to emoticons, acronyms, and short-forms.

OMG! u r 2 funny! lol :O

It makes my son’s babbling seem like the epitome of eloquence. Are we in that much of a hurry? Do we gain anything by reducing word size?

I think I’m going to take the time to write an actual letter. Who does that anymore? It’s practically a lost art. QWERTY keyboards are the death of penmanship. Besides, Christmas is coming. I HAVE to write a letter to Santa for my son. Sweet!

keyboard

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Talk To Me Already

  1. I love the conversations you have! :)

  2. myra36 says:

    thanks for the feedback!

Leave a Reply

