When To Put Them Away

I read an article in the paper the other day about a mother who was asked to leave a public pool because she was breastfeeding. Now, of course I’m all for breastfeeding in public. It’s a natural and beautiful thing to behold. However, this particular mother was not poolside but IN THE POOL. She was swimming when her daughter started to fuss. She did what any mother would do to calm her child down but IN THE POOL. There were other kids and adults too. I’m not saying that she was wrong to breastfeed in front of other children. I do it all the time with my niece and nephew. My point is that pool water is full of chlorine, sweat, bacteria, piss, saliva, and God-knows whatever else. Ewwww! If I was in her situation, I would have at least cleaned myself before sticking it into my child’s mouth. Now, the pool manager that asked her to leave is an expectant mother herself. So, we’re not talking about some ignorant non-parent. The manager even suggested that she use the changing room or viewing gallery to nurse. But, the mother took offense and planned a peaceful protest with her friends. Honestly, this seems to be much ado about nothing.

Like I’ve said, I’m all for breastfeeding in public. It’s my right to do so. But, it is also legal for me to go topless. Common sense and modesty need to be exercised more.

300px-public_breastfeeding

About myra36

parent, housewife, advocate, diva
This entry was posted in parenthood and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

